Tuesday, July 15, 2014

The Code of Ethics - Ethical Principles

Developing familiarity with the NASW Code of Ethics is a central part of preparing for the social work licensing exam. To help you along that path, here's something to focus on today: the six ethical principles delineated in the code. They are:
  1. Service
  2. Social Justice
  3. Dignity and Worth of the Person
  4. Importance of Human Relationships
  5. Integrity
  6. Competence
Links go to descriptions (courtesy of msu.edu). They're worth reviewing. As you wrestle with choosing between two answers on the exam (you can usually narrow down to a best two), you might think about these ethical principals. Which answer best reflects the Code of Ethics? That's going to be the one to mark.

For further review:
The NASW Code of Ethics, and, perhaps, Social Work Values and Ethics.


Lorraine said...

You started the blog up again as soon I started studying for the exam.. I think it's a sign.

Mamaknowsbest said...

I 100% agree that you'll know the one to mark just from carefully reviewing our ethical standards; they will guide you through the test, just as they do in real life. This post is so great and wanted to say thank you for these words of wisdom!